Basic Buddhist Terminology

Basic Buddhist Terminology

A-khati: Wrong cause of behavior; prejudice.

A-kusala-kamma: Unwholesome action; evil deed; bad deed.

A-lopha: Non-greed; generosity.

A-moha: Non-delusion; wisdom.

Aphyapata-witaka: Thought free from hatred.

A-riyasajja: The four noble truths.

A-tosa: Non-hatred; love.

Awihingsa-witaka: Thought of non-violence; thought free from cruelty.

Buddha: The Lord Buddha, founder of Buddhism; the Enlightened One also known as Siddhartha Gautama.

Buddha-Owata: The three admonitions of exhortations of the Buddha.

Dhamma: the teaching of the Buddha; the doctrine.

Dhura: Burden; task; business; responsibility in the dispensation.

Hiri: Moral shame; conscience.

Itthibat: Path of accomplishment; basic of success.

Jhanta: Will; aspiration.

Jhantakhati: Prejudice caused by love or desire.

Jintamaya-panya: Wisdom resulting from reflection; knowledge that is thought out.

Jitta: Thoughtfulness; active thought.
Kamma: Action; deed.

Kamma-tanha: Craving for sensual pleasures; sensual craving.

Kaya-kamma: Bodily action.

Khanta-Dhura: Burden of study; task of learning.

Khanti: Patient; forbearance; tolerance.

Kusala-kamma: Wholesome action; good deed.

Kusala muula:Whole some roots; Roots of good action.
Kusala-witaka: Wholesome thoughts.

Kusalassupa-sampata: to do good; to cultivate good.

Makkha:The path leading to the cessation of suffering.

Manoa-kamma: Mental action.

Mohakhati: Prejudice caused by delusion or stupidity.

Nekkhamma-witaka: Thought of renunciation; thought free from selfish desire.

Nirotha: The cessation of suffering; extinction of suffering.

Oattappa: Moral dread.

Panya: Wisdom, knowledge, understanding.

Phawa-tanha: Craving for existence.
Sutamaya-panya: Wisdom resulting from study; knowledge that is learned from others.

Phawanamaya-panya: Wisdom resulting from mental development; knowledge that is gained from development or practice.

Phayakhati: Prejudice caused by fear.

Sajittapariyatanang: to purify the mind.

Samadhi: meditation.

Sampachanya: Clear comprehension.

Samuthaya: The cause of suffering; origin of suffering.

Sangkha (Sangha): Disciple of the Buddha; monks; the order.

Sappa-papassa akaranang: not to do any evil.

Sati: Mindfulness.

Sila: the precept.

Sorajja: Modesty; meekness.

Sutta: the story.

Tanha: Craving.

Tosakhati: Prejudice caused by hatred or enmity.

Tukkha: Suffering; unsatisfactoriness.

Wajii-kamma: Verbal action.

Wimangsa: Investigation; examination; reasoning; testing.

Winaya: the discipline.

Wipassana-Dhura: Burden of insight development; task of meditation practice.

Wiphawa-tanha: Craving for non-existence; Craving for self-annihilation.

Wiriya: Energy; effort; exertion.